Off to school!

This week Kitt and Garet went to their last few days of MDO. We had fun there this summer and will miss going but are excited to be starting at Coralwood today! We have been talking about it and driving by on a regular basis for months now, and the day is finally here. More about that later, though. This week we went to Hippo Hopp and to Sensations Therafun to play. We had talked about going out of town for the weekend but changed our mind mid-week. It was a good thing, though, because it meant we got to see Emily, Frankie, William and their Mommy and Daddy. We spent the whole morning on Saturday with them at the pool and then they came to our house to play. It was so much fun and Mommy was especially glad to get to spend time with Kate. Of course, we got to spend time with Aunt Kristen a couple times this week! Ryan is really cruising things well but is not quite ready to let go and start walking. She continues to love watching Kitt and Garet play and is always laughing at things they do. On Wednesday we all went to Coralwood to meet our teachers and see our new school. We have three teachers and they all seem very nice. Our first day was great! We came home singing a new song and told Mommy all about the things we did. Even when we were being dropped off this morning Garet told Mommy she could just let us out at the door! (Mommy wasn’t quite ready for that!) And at pick up Kitt announced, “I like my school.” Mommy wrote us a letter for our first day of school and we wanted to share it with all of you.

Dear Kitt and Garet-

You started school today, and I know you are so excited! I am excited, too, as I know you are going to learn so much, meet so many new friends, have lots of fun and grow in so many ways. You will have experiences different than what I would be able to give you if you were still hanging out at home with me. I will miss you though! I will miss leisurely getting ready in the mornings and choosing together what activity we will do each day. Instead every morning you will get up and get ready to go to Coralwood. You will walk down the hallway to your class filled with anticipation of what you will do that day with your friends and your teachers, and I will eagerly await your return each day to hear all about your day. I am proud of both of you and know your friends and teachers will love knowing you, too. Kitt, they will love how sweet and helpful you are; they will love how well you take care of the class babies. They will love seeing your smile as you walk in the classroom and light up the room. Garet, they will love your enthusiasm and energy for life and for learning new things. They will love watching you play outside on the bikes, the swings and running around. They will love hearing your contagious laugh when you hear something funny. I know your class and your school will be a better place because the two of you are there. While I am excited for you, I am still a little sad. I will be sending you for a few hours each day to a less-than-perfect world. While I am not perfect either, I have always tried my best to show you unconditional love and acceptance, not to mention trying to protect you from every little thing that might hurt you. At school, I won’t be able to watch your every move and hear your thoughts and hug you when you need a hug, but I am sending you to school each day with all the things we have learned and experienced together every day leading up to this point. You are going to school having heard many times that you are loved; you are compassionate; you are kind; you are valuable; you are smart; you are caring; you are brave; you are courageous; and you are successful. Remember those things every day. I hope that you will go to school each day being kind and remembering to treat everyone better than you want to be treated. Know that Mommy and Daddy are your biggest fans and are so excited to hear about all that you will achieve. There are so many people who love you and who also can’t wait to hear all about your first day. I love you both so very much and am so proud of who you are and who you will grow to be this school year.

Love, Mommy

DSC_0001 DSC_0004 DSC_0028 DSC_0032 DSC_0038 DSC_0039 DSC_0040 DSC_0045 DSC_0052 DSC_0055 DSC_0059 DSC_0061 DSC_0065

How wonderful! I love seeing your pictures from your fun weekend and of your first day at school. So proud of you both! I can’t wait to hear more stories about your new school. Aunt LeAnn

Oh, Kitt and Garet: what heartfelt thoughts your Mommy wrote as she pondered your first day at Coralwood preschool. You both looked really sharp for your first day at school. Both of you, as well as Ryan, are so fortunate and blessed to have a Mommy and Daddy that love you so much. Poppy loves you too and is very proud of you all. I pray for all three of you daily and hope that all your days will be happy and joyous. I’m glad you were able to see and play with Emily, Frankie and William. And I know your Mommy was happy to see her friend Kate too. I hope you all have a wonderful week and I’ll be looking forward to your next blog. Love you lots!!! …Poppy

My, my–don’t you girls look fabulous! You look terrific (and so grown up!) in the new outfits you selected. They are so colorful. Garet, couldn’t you find something in purple? Just kidding. I love the pink you selected. I knew you would do great on your first day at your new preschool. Your mommy and daddy have done such a good job in preparing you for everything you are going to encounter. What fond memories these letters that your mom writes will generate when you are older. Did anymore girls join your class or is it still just three girls in a class of 16? Now, Kitt, I want to know if you are just “posing” on the diving board, or did you actually jump? What a nice treat to have your friends visiting this weekend. I know how much your mommy misses Kate so they had a lot of catching up to do. Ryan, this week you turn 15 months old so you are at the age when Aunt Kristen started walking! So maybe this will be the week! No matter when you walk, you get where you want to go no matter what! Continue to enjoy school, girls. Ryan, I think it’s great that you have your mommy all to yourself every morning. Enjoy that time. Have another great week, and you will be in my thoughts and prayers. Love you lots, Granny

4 thoughts on “Off to school!

  1. Oh, Kitt and Garet: what heartfelt thoughts your Mommy wrote as she pondered your first day at Coralwood preschool. You both looked really sharp for your first day at school. Both of you, as well as Ryan, are so fortunate and blessed to have a Mommy and Daddy that love you so much. Poppy loves you too and is very proud of you all. I pray for all three of you daily and hope that all your days will be happy and joyous. I’m glad you were able to see and play with Emily, Frankie and William. And I know your Mommy was happy to see her friend Kate too. I hope you all have a wonderful week and I’ll be looking forward to your next blog. Love you lots!!! …Poppy

  2. My, my–don’t you girls look fabulous! You look terrific (and so grown up!) in the new outfits you selected. They are so colorful. Garet, couldn’t you find something in purple? Just kidding. I love the pink you selected. I knew you would do great on your first day at your new preschool. God opened the door for the very best school for you. Your mommy and daddy have done such a good job in preparing you for everything you are going to encounter. What fond memories these letters that your mom writes will generate when you are older. Did anymore girls join your class or is it still just three girls in a class of 16? Now, Kitt, I want to know if you are just “posing” on the diving board, or did you actually jump? What a nice treat to have your favorite and oldest friends visiting this weekend. I know how much your mommy misses Kate so they had a lot of catching up to do. Ryan, this week you turn 15 months old so you are at the age when Aunt Kristen started walking! So maybe this will be the week! No matter when you walk, you get where you want to go no matter what! Continue to enjoy school, girls. Ryan, I think it’s great that you have your mommy all to yourself every morning. Enjoy that time. Have another great week, and you will be in my thoughts and prayers. Love you lots, Granny

  3. One more thing – do you also have new backpacks? So, what you have stashed in there? Kitt, surely, you don’t have your family in there!!!!

Leave a Reply

